This Little Piggy Came to Washington!

Back in April, I attended my very first Pig Roast.  We were in Hawaii and my husband and I had a “when in Rome” moment and decided it might be a cool thing to see.  My husband enjoyed it but I have to be completely honest – it kind of creeped me out. Even the apple in the little piggy’s mouth couldn’t make it cute; it just looked so sad up there!  Anyway, I ended up actually tasting the pig and it was absolutely delicious.  And while I’m still not totally a pig roast kind of girl, I get its appeal. It’s rather yummy!  So, I decided I should tell all my awesome readers about the plethora of pig coming to DC this week! Enjoy! xo -KC

Tonight: 7 Courses of Pig @ 701

There’s still time to make reservations at 701 Restaurant for their Pig & Riesling Dinner tonight at 7 pm.  For $85/person, you get seven courses of pork and a wine pairing of Riesling to enjoy each with. Think you’re going to be trying pulled pork seven ways?  Think again – the menu includes Thai Basil Pork Raviolo, Bacon and Olive Oil Mashed Potatoes, and to round it out – Doughnut with lard cream and a Saffron-Star Anise-Mango Glaze.  This is clearly not your neighborhood pig roast.  For reservations: (202) 393-0701.

Sunday: “Pig Out” Patio Party @ Bourbon Steak!

How fun is this?! Super-chic Bourbon Steak is rolling up its sleeves this Sunday, August 14th, to host a pig-roast on its fabulous patio! From 12 pm – 3pm, guests can enjoy a 300-pound spit-roasted pig along side all the delicious trimmings and desserts that Bourbon Steak is famous for.  Best of all, Bourbon Steak has partnered with local brewery, DC Brau, to provide all the perfect pork-pairing beers for the event! $35/person, $50/person for food & drink.  Tickets: (202) 944-2026.

Adorable Cupcakes from last year's event!

Leave a Reply

