Curiously Good Wine & Dine in Shirlington

The other night Craig and I had a chance to try out the Curious Grape, a new spot in Shirlington that allows you to do three of my favorite things simultaneously – wine, dine, and shop. Most of you know that I have taken a very brief hiatus from reporting on my favorite spots in DC to lead my Leukemia & Lymphoma Society Woman of the Year campaign, but I just had to tell you about this delightful gem of a wine shop, bar, café, and restaurant.

Wine:  I love a good international wine menu and this place has exactly that!  Napa, New Zealand, Italy, Argentina, you name it – they have it.  Wines are available by the glass, and aren’t that pricey, but if you’re looking for a cheaper bottle ($20 or less) you might want to think again.  For the beer lovers, Curious Grape has a great selection of high quality, craft beers available by the bottle and on tap. 

Image

Dine: The menu focuses on seasonal wine-focused fare and is absolutely delish! I had the scallops – which were amazing, and Craig had the chicken – also delish, but we both were eyeing the beef tenderloin at the table next to us the whole time.  What I liked most about the food was that everything was available in half or full portions.  Entrees become appetizers, appetizers become entrees – it’s a beautiful thing. You can also try their house made breakfast and dessert pastries available all day long.

Image

I’d be remiss if I didn’t mention the house-made strawberry jam made with rosé. Served with the red wine cheese plate straight from the cheese bar to start us off – YUM!

Shop: If you’re looking for a great selection of wine, artisan chocolates, and gifts, Curious Grape’s shop is perfect.  Let’s just say it took a whole lot of self-restraint for me to walk out of there empty-handed.

Image

Are you curious yet?! With summer approaching, I highly recommend taking a stroll around the Village at Shirlington and stopping by the Curious Grape.   Save a glass of wine for me! 

Leave a Reply

