Capitol Cook: Date & Gorgonzola Omelet

Perhaps it’s my Persian heritage, but I could eat dates for every meal. Stuff them, grill them, wrap them or just give them to me out of a box– however you serve them up, I’m game.  And for as much as I eat dates (trust me, it’s a lot), I never thought to put them in my morning omelet.  That is until my mom told me about her grandmother, who used to make her an amazing date omelet back in Iran.  So, I decided to give it a try and if I do say so myself (and I do), it came out fabulously! Try it out and let me know what variations you come up with!

Ingredients

  • 2 Eggs (or egg whites – whichever you prefer, I tend to use egg whites b/c I’m not a big fan of the yolk taste).
  • 1 Tablespoon Crumbled Gorgonzola Cheese
  • 2 Dates

Cut the dates in vertical strips around the pit.  Two dates should give you about 8 to 10 pieces.

Sliced Dates

Sliced Dates

Over low heat, melt 1/8 tablespoon of butter and sauté the dates.  Make sure you don’t have the temperature up too high, as you’ll burn the dates (and that would be unfortunate).  Continue sautéing for about 5 minutes; you’ll hear the dates crackling and will be able to smell their sweet, sweet scent.

Dates Sauteing

While your dates continue to sauté, crack the eggs open and pour them over.  Season with salt and pepper and add the Gorgonzola (I love Gorgonzola with dates, but feel free to pick your cheese of choice).  The omelet will mold together fast so keep your eye on it and flip it in half once you see it’s starting to take shape.  Give it a couple more minutes, flip it over once or twice (still on low to medium-low heat) and voila! You have yourself a delicious Date and Gorgonzola Omelet.  Bon Appetite!

Date & Gorgonzola Omelet

Date & Gorgonzola Omelet

Leave a Reply

